04/22/2019 Minutes - Librarians Assembly Annual Meeting

Goals

Annual Spring meeting of the Librarians Assembly

Discussion Items			
Item	Who	Notes	
Meeting called to order	Joe Goetz	On behalf of the current LAEC: Joe Goetz, Jeanette Sewell, Mira Greene, Amanda Focke. Over 25 librarians present in total.	
Approval of minutes from last year	п	Minutes on the staff portal under the title 06/06/2018 Minutes - Librarians Assembly	
		Motion to approve by Lisa Spiro, seconded by Alice Rhoades, all present in favor.	
Officer reports	п	Reporting that the Ad Hoc Librarians Assembly Open Access Policy Review Committee met during the year and will have a report, and the Ad Hoc CAP Review Guidelines Committee also met and has a report. No other major activities for the Librarians Assembly Executive Committee during the year.	
Special Committees: Ad Hoc Librarians Assembly Open Access Policy Review Committee	II .	Reporting on behalf of the Ad Hoc Librarians Assembly Open Access Policy Review Committee, brief discussion regarding the committee's recommendations, which the LAEC is following up with a petition to the Fondren Executive Committee (no vote required). Committee members are: Shannon Kipphut-Smith, Scott Carlson, Scott Vieira, Melinda Flannery.	
		See attached slides for the presentation on this topic. General recommendation is to create an Open Access statement not a policy, to be crafted by an expanded committee group in 2019.	
Special Committees: Ad Hoc CAP Review	David Bynog	Brief discussion of the committee's recommendations. The Assembly will then vote on the amendments using the same ballot as the election of new LAEC officers in the week following the meeting. These amendments must be approved by a majority of the Assembly before being	

04/22/2019 Minutes - Librarians Assembly Annual Meeting

Item	Who	Notes
Guidelines Committee		forwarded to the Vice Provost and University Librarian (Sara Lowman) for final approval. See attached slides for the presentation on this topic.
Nominating Committee	Joe Goetz	Thanks to the work of the Nominating Committee members: Keith Chapman, Jun Qian, Norie Guthrie. The slate was announced as: Sue Garrison, Lisa Spiro, Jane Zhao, and Anna Shparberg.
CAP nomination	п	No nominees were put forward prior to this meeting for the CAP committee, so a call is going out for nominees this week so that the election may go forward including this.
Meeting adjouned	II	Motion to adjourn called by Lisa Spiro, seconded by Debra Kolah, all in favor, none opposed.